Visit the Museum





Academic Research

Remember Survivors and Victims

Genocide Prevention

Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial

Outreach Programs

Other Museum Websites

< About the Mandel Center

Academic Committee


The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies is advised by the Academic Committee of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council. The Academic Committee is composed of experts in the field of Holocaust studies. It is an important resource for the Museum’s programs, aiming to promote research and teaching about the Holocaust into the future.

Committee Members

Wendy Lower (Chair)
Claremont McKenna College

Doris L. Bergen
University of Toronto

Richard Breitman
American University

Ethel C. Brooks*
Rutgers University

Christopher R. Browning
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

David Engel
New York University

David Fishman
Jewish Theological Seminary

Alexandra Garbarini
Williams College

Zvi Y. Gitelman
University of Michigan

Dorota Glowacka
University of King’s College

Wolf Gruner
University of Southern California

Paul Hanebrink
Rutgers University

Sara R. Horowitz
York University

Steven T. Katz
Boston University

William S. Levine
Phoenix, AZ

Deborah E. Lipstadt
Emory University

Michael R. Marrus
University of Toronto

Todd Presner
University of California, Los Angeles

Alvin H. Rosenfeld
Indiana University

Menachem Z. Rosensaft*
Columbia Law School and Cornell Law School

George D. Schwab
National Committee on American Foreign Policy

Jeffrey Veidlinger
University of Michigan

James E. Young
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

* Member, United States Holocaust Memorial Council