Visit the Museum

Exhibitions

Learn

Teach

Collections

Academic Research

Remember Survivors and Victims

Genocide Prevention

Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial

Outreach Programs

Other Museum Websites

About This Event

Time: August 31, 2021, 7:00 p.m.–8:00 p.m. CDT

Ticket: Free, Registration Required

Location: Virtual Event

  • Dr. Rebecca Erbelding demonstrates an interactive feature in Americans and the Holocaust. US Holocaust Memorial Museum
  • Dr. Rebecca Erbelding demonstrates an interactive feature in Americans and the Holocaust. US Holocaust Memorial Museum

7 p.m. CT | 8 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. PT

As the Museum prepares for the 2021 Midwest Virtual Event, please join us for a behind-the-scenes look into the institution’s special exhibition, Americans and the Holocaust. It examines the motives, pressures, and fears that shaped Americans’ responses to Nazism, war, and the persecution and murder of Jews in Europe during the 1930s and 1940s.

Dr. Rebecca Erbelding, a Museum historian, will guide us through the history, themes, and artifacts presented throughout the exhibition. The Museum’s mandate encourages visitors to ask difficult questions. Americans and the Holocaust prompts them to ask, what did Americans know and what more could have been done?

To learn more about the Museum’s urgent mission to educate about the Holocaust and confront antisemitism, register for the 2021 Midwest Virtual Event, to be held on September 23 at noon CT.

Speaker
Dr. Rebecca Erbelding, Historian, William Levine Family Institute for Holocaust Education, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

This virtual program is free and open to the public, but reservations are required.

For more information, please contact the Midwest Regional Office at 312.905.5459 or midwest@ushmm.org.