Visit the Museum

Exhibitions

Learn

Teach

Collections

Academic Research

Remember Survivors and Victims

Genocide Prevention

Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial

Outreach Programs

Other Museum Websites

About This Event

Time: June 16, 2021, 6:00 p.m.–7:10 p.m. PDT

Ticket: Free, Registration Required

Location: Virtual Event

  • Virginia Hall. Courtesy of Lorna Catling
  • Virginia Hall. Courtesy of Lorna Catling

2021 Linda and Tony Rubin Lecture

3 p.m. HST | 5 p.m. AKDT | 6 p.m. PDT and MST | 7 p.m. MDT | 9 p.m. ET

As she fled certain death by scaling a remote Pyrenees mountain pass, the secret agent worried and planned: Would the network of spies and saboteurs she built in France survive Nazi occupation? Would those who had been arrested—including several Jews—survive the torture of Klaus Barbie, the infamous “butcher of Lyon”? With her cover blown by a double agent, would she be able to return and coordinate attacks on the Germans before an Allied invasion? The agent was American Virginia Hall, who changed espionage forever, escaped with her life, and did it all with just one leg.

The public is only beginning to know her full story. Those who know it best—members of Virginia Hall’s family and the deputy director of the CIA Museum—will join us for this live virtual program.

Linda and Tony Rubin have been deeply involved with and strong supporters of the Museum since 1994. Through the annual Rubin Lecture, they bring thought-provoking discussions of Holocaust history to the western region audience.

Remarks
Linda and Tony Rubin

Speakers
Deputy Director, CIA Museum

Lorna Catling and Brad Catling, members of Virginia Hall’s family

Moderator
Nadia Ficara, Director, International Travel Programs and VIP Speakers, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Register to receive a link to the program.

For more information, please contact the Western Regional Office at western@ushmm.org or 323.207.0671.