Skip to main content

First Person: Conversations with Survivors

The Museum’s First Person program enables visitors to hear Holocaust survivors tell their life stories in their own words, uniting personal experience with history in a way that is extraordinary in its immediacy and power. Each hour-long program features a live interview between journalist Bill Benson and a survivor, followed by a question-and-answer session.

Listen to past interviews in our First Person podcast series.

2015 Season

First Person is free and open to the public. Programs are held in the Rubinstein Auditorium; due to security precautions, please allow extra time for delays entering the Museum building. Communication Access Realtime Translation (CART) is available. All programs begin at 11 a.m. and usually last one hour. Doors to the auditorium open at 10:45 a.m. Programs take place every Wednesday and Thursday from March 18 through August 13, 2015.

This year's season of First Person is made possible by generous support from the Louis Franklin Smith Foundation with additional funding from the Helena Rubinstein Foundation.

Wednesday, March 18 Fanny Aizenberg

Thursday, March 19 Steven Fenves

Wednesday, March 25 Gideon Frieder

Thursday, March 26 Halina Peabody

Wednesday, April 1 Susan Taube

Thursday, April 2 Alex Schiffman-Shilo

Wednesday, April 8 Henry Greenbaum

Thursday, April 9 Margit Meissner

Wednesday, April 15 Martin Weiss

Thursday, April 16 Bob Behr

Wednesday, April 22 Marcel Drimer

Thursday, April 23 Louise Lawrence-Israëls

Wednesday, April 29 Morris Rosen

Thursday, April 30 Nat Shaffir

Wednesday, May 6 Péter Gorog

Thursday, May 7 Irene Weiss

Wednesday, May 13 Esther Starobin

Thursday, May 14 Julius Menn

Wednesday, May 20 David Bayer

Thursday, May 21 Josiane Traum

Wednesday, May 27 Sam Ponczak

Thursday, May 28 Jill Pauly

Wednesday, June 3 Sylvia Rozines

Thursday, June 4 Jacqueline Mendels Birn

Wednesday, June 10 Nesse Godin

Thursday, June 11 Frank Liebermann

Wednesday, June 17 Michel Margosis

Thursday, June 18 Theodora Klayman

Wednesday, June 24 Agi Geva

Thursday, June 25 Henry Kahn

Wednesday, July 1 Estelle Laughlin

Thursday, July 2 Fritz Gluckstein

Wednesday, July 8 Leon Merrick

Thursday, July 9 Albert Garih

Wednesday, July 15 Alfred Traum

Thursday, July 16 Harry Markowicz

Wednesday, July 22 Anna Grosz

Thursday, July 23 Susan Warsinger

Wednesday, July 29 Alfred Münzer

Thursday, July 30 Jacques Fein

Wednesday, August 5 Rachel Goldfarb

Thursday, August 6 George Pick

Wed, August 12 Emanuel (Manny) Mandel

Thursday, August 13 Julie Keefer